You are here

About the Executive

The Executive manages and conducts the affairs of the Society.

The Executive is composed of one non lawyer, appointed by the Commissioner for a term of three years.  There are also at least four other Executive members.  All of these are lawyers who have been approved to practice in, and live in the NWT. They are elected by all the lawyers who practice in the NWT.

Included in the Executive are the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. The offices of Secretary and Treasurer may be held by the same person.

The Executive appoints an Executive Director, who is also called Deputy Secretary or Deputy Secretary-Treasurer. The Executive Director is responsible for managing the Law Society office.  The Executive Directors is an ex officio member of the Executive.

Every lawyer who lives in the NWT and who is approved to practice law in the NWT can be nominated for a position on the Executive.

The Executive typically meets monthly.

Executive Committee Agendas:

September 3, 2019

Executive Committee Minutes:

January 19, 2018

February 21, 2018

March 14, 2018

April 26, 2018

May 24, 2018

June 27, 2018

June 28, 2018

August 1, 2018

September 24, 2018

October 30, 2018

November 28, 2018

Draft AGM Minutes- December 1, 2018

January 9, 2019

February 20, 2019

April 10, 2019

May 29, 2019



The 2018/2019 Law Society Executive

Tracy Bock

Mike Reddy

Brad Patzer

Ian Rennie

Candace Seddon
Member at Large

Heather Chang